Skip to content

She NEVER stops talking….

July 16, 2015

I used to call this kind of post “Aida says” but now, she just never stops talking and it’s kind of overwhelming and now I understand why my dad just wants to come home after a long day of work and have silence….

The following are from over 6 months ago.. because who can find time to write these days?:

I heard a familiar snapping sound coming from the living room and found Aida amongst a heap of her brand-new crayons that she had broken into bits.
Me: Aida why did you break all of your nice new crayons that Santa brought you?
Aida: It’s cause I broke my crayons so hard!!

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/73c/14773907/files/2015/01/img_0107.jpg

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/73c/14773907/files/2015/01/img_0113.jpg

In the car after school one day Aida was “reading” aloud her daily sheet that describes what she did at school for the day.
A: I played with the parachute and I ate my lunch and I did not poop on the snow.

While eating cereal:
A: Mommy I need to wash my heartbeat off of my cereal please!!!
(Some milk had soaked through her shirt in the area above her heart.)

More recent proclamations:

I put on a floral print bikini top and when I turned around Aida said “Wow, mom, I love your flowery nipples!”

While making breakfast Aida came over to give me a nice tight hug around the legs and said “Mama, I’m your pal, we have a love like I’ve never known.” Yes we do, sweet girl. I’m glad that you know it’s true.

Lately, she’s taken a real interest in Jesus:

Aida: Mom, I need to call Jesus.
Me: Ok, call him anytime, what are you going to tell him?
A: I need to tell him that he is a beach man.
M: Oh, he lives at the beach?
A: No, he lives in Texas. I need to tell him good luck.

And another one….

Aida: Mom, I want to go back to see Jesus.
Me: You’ve seen Jesus before?
A: Yeah
M: Where?
A: At his house, we were eating tacos. He was crying…
M: Why was he crying?
A: He just wanted some candy.

Aida is also really into stomping. She loves the part of Frosty the Snowman where Frosty leads all of the kids in a parade and they stomp around the village. Lately she asks if she can stomp when we are in new places… like it’s fun. I don’t know. Well, this was sort of violent and weird: “mom, if I’m too difficult you can stomp me for sure then we can get on the boat and row it won’t that be just great?!”

This kid truly hates having her hair brushed or washed so I keep asking her if we can cut it short to make all of our lives better. Me: “Want your hair short like mommy’s?” A: “Nope, I just want dread locks with strings wrapped around them.” I’m not sure that she’ll understand cultural appropriation just yet, but we’ll talk about that soon.

We have officially reached the “terrible twos” which I really tried hard not to call them that, but let’s just call a spade a spade mmmmkkkkay. I had my own little meltdown the other night after an especially hard day and tried to talk about it with Aida at dinner, well, actually I think she was trying to talk about it with me: Aida: Mommy, you were really frustrated. C: Yes I was, do you know why? A: It’s secause (this is her version of because) you were having a hard time. C: Yes, I was having a hard time. When you don’t listen to me and I ask you the same thing over and over it makes me feel frustrated. A: Oooh, and that’s a problem!!

On the way home from school I heard from the back seat: A: “Mom, can I get a tattoo please?” Me: “Umm, what kind of tattoo would you like?” A: “A tiger, right here on my arm.” I pictured something like this…

4612290_6847999_lz

Life is super crazy and exhausting and awesome and I wouldn’t trade it for anything. However, a night alone in a hotel with room service wouldn’t be the worst thing I could dream up =)

11402705_10103094427848651_4149283323054664214_n

One Comment leave one →
  1. frances permalink
    July 17, 2015 11:01 AM

    I’m glad to hear other mommies have an exhausting life. Working full timie and driving 56 miles a day round trip,
    I feel like its just me sometimes. 🙂

Leave a comment